Rejection and Praising God

Image

Each morning as I ride the bus into campus, I read my daily devotionals.  At first, the noise of the bus trip and the chatter of the passengers seemed to irritate me.  I couldn’t concentrate on the words being read.  I persevered (Continue in a course of action even in the face of difficulty or with little or no indication of success.) and found I actually focused more on the words and what I needed to hear because of the noise.  I heard God more clearly when the bus would jolt me over next speed bump.  I felt God more closely when we stopped suddenly for the deer, who had to jump out in front of the bus, in search of their daily food.  So, as I was reading today on this wet damp rainy day, the words started to fill my soul and make me shine from the inside out.  These are the words which renewed me and I wanted to share.

By Wendy Pope

Praising God is easy when life is full of happiness and success. However, when we’re dealing with rejection, praising God can be difficult; it can feel like a sacrifice. It’s not necessarily easy to offer a heart of thanks when we feel like we don’t have much to be grateful for. However, the writer of Hebrews advises us to “continually offer up a sacrifice of praise to God, that is, the fruit of lips” (Hebrews 13:15b). Just like fruit is sweet and pleasing to our taste, praise is sweet and pleasing to the Lord.

Praising through the pain (and if we’re honest, sometimes through the self-pity) seems to take strength we don’t have to give. But the author of Hebrews 13:15tells us our ability to praise in hard moments comes through Jesus.

As we tap into His power, our sacrifice of praise will generate more strength to praise, which will generate more praise. It is a beautiful cycle! Praise lifts our eyes from the rejection and sets it on all we have in Jesus: peace, comfort and acceptance.

Reject: To refuse to recognize or give affection to (a person).

Swept her aside as if she were a cobweb ~ Susan Kelly

Search on: what does the bible say about rejection

Result which resonated with me:

Matthew 10:14 (ESV)

And if anyone will not receive you or listen to your words, shake off the dust from your feet when you leave that house or town.

 

Reflect:  What joy it is to know that no matter how I feel about not getting that promotion, not getting the relationship I am so seeking for, not having enough funds to buy my own home and not being able to have a small lap dog, I can still praise God.  I can still praise God for having a job, having a wonderful space to live in, having good friends and family in times of loneliness and having all of my basic needs met.  I am strong, vibrant and a loving person who can say #palmsup  to God for he is good and the Almighty:  He is my way, my truth and my light for my soul.  

 

 

3 thoughts on “Rejection and Praising God

  1. Shila says:

    It’s amazing how God works, I feel I posted almost the same thing. Praise, it’s hard during the tough times (for me the pity party) but that is the sacrifice. Blessings to you!

  2. I really like how you wrote your post! Starting with an issue, your search, and the Bible verse that struck you most about that. Thanks so much for sharing!!

    Kris Danko (OBS Small Group Leader)

Leave a Reply

