Listen you will be #AMAZED !!!

Image

Last week we discussed how to hear God’s voice by using the 5 filter questions:

Image

I am still being amazed, how I am hearing God so easily these past few days.  He has touched my heart through prayer, Sunday’s sermon, online bible study and a community of sisters who are sharing and pouring out their words of love and faith.

I continue to use my tools and skills: verse mapping, the 5 filter questions, several versions of the bible, daily devotionals and the online community.

As I was reading my daily devotional and reflecting on my life, I realized how my life was not full.  Sure, I was busy and had many activities to keep me busy but something seemed to be lacking and I could not put my finger on it.  I recall one time saying to a friend, this is it, this is all that there is to life.  I had a husband, a daughter, a home and a good job.  Why did I still feel empty inside?  WOW!  Am I amazed at what I had been missing out on all this time.  I had attended church though-out my youth, as a young mother and again as an older adult.  However, it had been good but not *GREAT*.  Why, I was not listening, I was not reading the word of God, I was not leaning on God, I was not searching for a closer relationship with God. And have I been missing out *BIG* time.  For the first time, I am feeling God’s grace and love being poured out on me.  It’s been there all the time but I just wasn’t truly listening.

As I continue my studies I think of the words: joy, happiness and peace.

joy:  Intense and especially ecstatic or exultant happiness.

happiness: Cheerful; willing

peace: Inner contentment; serenity

By listening and hearing God, I am experiencing an intense willingness of serenity.  Praise God!

I searched on: what does the bible say about joy.

Romans 15:13 ESV 

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.

I searched on: what does the bible say about happiness.

          John 15:1-27 ESV

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vine-dresser. Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit. Already you are clean because of the word that I have spoken to you. Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. …

I searched on: what does the bible say about peace.

Romans 8:6 ESV

For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace.

For me Romans 8:6 fills my heart and soul, knowing the longing I wanted has been with me all of this time but I just didn’t truly listen with all my heart and soul.  Praise God!

To know God is the vine-dresser and takes away all my troubles, worries, sadness and fear.  Just as I am the gardener, of the tree, which needs to be pruned of the dead leaves, blossoms and dead branches. The tree will grow  more beautiful and stronger.  Just as I will grow stronger knowing God is my strength, my love, my joy, my happiness and my desire.  Praise God!

And finally to sum it all up so clearly to me is:

Isaiah 58:10-11 ESV 

If you pour yourself out for the hungry and satisfy the desire of the afflicted, then shall your light rise in the darkness and your gloom be as the noonday. And the Lord will guide you continually and satisfy your desire in scorched places and make your bones strong; and you shall be like a watered garden, like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail

Yes, once again, I am truly AMAZED!

2 thoughts on “Listen you will be #AMAZED !!!

  1. I *LOVE* the scriptural reference in Isaiah you added in your post!! What a CLEAR visual of us many times~ hungry, afflicted, dark, gloomy, scorched (parched) dry… BUT the LORD is our SOURCE!!! He will guide us and satisfy us and “water” our souls!! I’m rejoicing with you that you’re finding this fulfillment with HIM throughout your studies in His word, as you draw closer to Him! Thanks for sharing!! 🙂
    James 4:8 (a)~ “Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you.”

  2. I so agree, God is the Only One who fills us fully. He truly is enough and nothing else can fill His place. So happy for you that you are experiencing God in such a beautiful and real way!! and thanks for liking my post – it is so encouraging!!

Leave a Reply

