#stickwithit ~ To be Alone

Pikes Peak ALONE

Alone

I admit being on vacation has challenged me with continuing my studies.  However, the first thing I did, upon arrival in CO, was to find a church and the local library.  I knew I would want to at least BOG HOP on Thursday.  I continue to struggle with my online bible study committment, as I have so many things planned –  I might just be “OVER BOOKED”.  So, I am taking the time to #stickwithit and blog hop this evening.

The day began ~ 15 minutes late and then traffic was hung up on 470.  My stomach was in knots from the day before.  I am sure my nerves were getting the best of me.  Would I make it to my destination in time: 30 mins prior to train leaving at 10:40.  The only thing I could do was put it in God’s hands – if it was meant to be it was and if not I was going to miss the train ride to Pikes Peak.  I made it with knots, in my tummy and 10 mins to spare, bought a large bottle of water and pretzels, still hoping my stomach would settle.  Those knots just kept getting tighter and tighter.  I am not sure what my thoughts were, I tried to focus on the moment and enjoy but by the time we reached the summit at 14,110. I was ready to get OFF that mountain top.  I don’t know why, I was so up tight but I knew I needed to take as many pictures as possible and head back to my train seat.  The dizziness and churning were playing havoc with me.  I know part of me was longing to share this experience with someone and not ALONE.  I know I long to have someone special in my life to share these experiences with and to say out loud the ooohhh and the aahhh feelings.  Slowly but for sure, we made it back down the mountain to the station.  As I reflect ~ I was not alone – the entire time I was with my heavenly Father.

I proceeded to my next destination The Garden of the Gods.  I was so impressed by the beauty of the rock formation and the serenity that my stomach started to finally ease up.  I managed to make it back to Littleton before dark and without getting lost ~  all ALONE.  Had I not #stickwithit I would have missed out on an amazing experience to be one with the creator of all!

Alone means: being apart from others; solitary

Solitary means: having no companions

Isaiah 41:10 ESV

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. 

For many reason, I believe this trip was God calling me, to be ALONE.  I know he is challenging me to trust him and lean on him.  It’s about trusting him completely, in the midst of my solitary, knowing he has my hand and will NOT let go.  I need to trust God with every fiber of my being and just #stickwithit.

2 thoughts on “#stickwithit ~ To be Alone

  1. jcstormy47 says:

    When I feel alone, I close my eyes to simply listen to the sounds around me. It’s at that moment I feel peace because I realized I was never really alone. Thank you for sharing, and making a point to participate in the blog hop and sticking with it!

  2. Lauren says:

    Thank you for sharing your pictures and your story, and for your resolve to #stickwithit. God honors us… and sometimes He does have to slow us down and get us alone to really speak. Blessings as you continue your Bible Study!
    Lauren, P31 OBS Small Group Leader

Leave a Reply

