Psalm 37:7 Rest in the Lord and wait Patiently for him

Kirk and Brenda First Year Sept 2013 2014 821

This summer has brought many moments of waiting.

I planted a garden with help from my sweetheart.  We waited patiently for a yield of something.  Last week, we gathered summer squash, cucumbers, beans and cherry tomatoes.  I was more than delighted and felt even if this was the only thing we would get from the garden, I would be filled with joy.  It does appear we will be getting much more and will have enough of everything to give to family and friends.

The weather has been unpredictable this summer.  We wait patiently for a weekend of sunshine in order to enjoy camping.  The process of unfolding the tent and checking for the right location.  The wrong location can lead to a roll off the air mattress and a tumble down on the ground with the dog joining on top of us.

We wait patiently for the weather to hold for a long ride on the motorcycle.  To find an amazing falls off the path of somewhere to nowhere. It’s so secluded and peaceful.  The taste of coolness in the air and the smell of a freshness, reminds me of laundered sheets coming off the lines and putting them back on your bed.  You inhale just to feel the sensation of serenity.

I wait patiently as my finances become available to build a home.  I look at homes around me and see flower beds and fences and yards to mow.  I yearn for those occasions of mowing to smell the freshness of cut grass.  I seek those moments of digging in the dirt to plant a Johnny Jump-up and watching it grow.

I hear and see to many times, people in a hurry, people not waiting for you to move your car if the green light has been on for more than 10 seconds, people anxious while in line at the grocery store, people wanting their time to move faster and faster to get to that “next” thing.  We are a world of inpatient people and a world of I need it now and not later.

It was at this moment, I decided I needed to really study the Word of God about being patient.  What does this mean to me and to those that come into my life?  How can I live in a world that promotes inpatient?  How can I step back and be thankful for the now and not wish for the tomorrow to come?

I looked to my bible, KJV, and the first scripture I read was Psalm 37:7  Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for him: fret not thyself because of him who prospereth in his way, because of the man who bringeth wicked devices to pass.

Patient: able to accept or tolerate delays, problems, or sufferings without becoming annoyed or anxious

This one verse says it all:  rest ~ don’t wish your time away, take time to smell the roses, take time to feel the breeze flow through your hair on a windy summer night, take time to hear the birds sing as you fill the feeder full of food, take the time to look at the sunrise and the sunsets.  Everyday brings a new beginning and a time to rest in the joy of God’s amazing grace he has given to his people.  wait ~ hold the door for the elderly lady getting her mail from the post office, don’t buy those extra pants or shirts unless you have none, add more to your savings before buying your next large purchase, finish one project before starting the next and hold off 20 minutes to see if you really need an extra slice of cake.  I truly believe by waiting consistently, I will get my answer much sooner than later.  fret not ~it just doesn’t matter if I don’t have my home now, it doesn’t matter if I don’t have this year’s in fashion clothes or shoes, it doesn’t matter if I don’t have the last tech gadget to play with and enjoy. I do have all my needs met (good job, warm apartment, Christian man who loves me dearly and good health).

The next time I become annoyed or anxious, I will remember these three small words:  rest, wait and fret not from Psalm 37:7.

Once again, turn to the Word and it will never fail you.

Thank you Lord for all my blessings and the Word you provide me each and every day.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

