Study on the: Book of Isaiah

Day 1: Rebel Against

What happens when a nation or one rebels against the Lord?

IMG_0428

As we start a new year, a new day, a new beginning, a new season, and for many new goals, I have decided to start a new study on the book of Isaiah

Please join me on my journey of getting to know the Word and why I don’t lean on my own understanding but on the Lord’s.

Isaiah Chapter 1:1-9

As I read the first 9 verses of this chapter, I get a glimpse of Isaiah seeing a rebellious people/ country.

Rebel definition:  to act in or show opposition or disobedience

As I searched: rebel against in the bible, I am reminded of the very first rebellious act: Adam.

Adam’s sin (Gen. 3:1-6) consisted in his yielding to the assaults of temptation and eating the forbidden fruit. It “involved in it, (1) the sin of unbelief, virtually making God a” liar; and (2) the guilt of disobedience to a positive command. “By this sin he became an apostate from God, a rebel in arms” against his Creator.

The moral character of a man’s actions is determined by the “moral state of his heart. The disposition to sin, or the habit” “of the soul that leads to the sinful act, is itself also sin” “(Rom. 6:12-17; Gal. 5:17; James 1:14, 15).

I continue verse mapping: rebel against and find in Joshua what happens to those who rebel against the Lord.

Joshua 1:18: Whosoever he be that doth rebel against thy commandment, and will not hearken unto thy words in all that thou commandest him, he shall be put to death : only be strong and of a good courage .

Are we a nation who has rebelled against our Lord?  Are we a nation who has taken God out of our land and turned to a blind heart?  As stated in:  Eph. 4:18, 19: “ignorance,” “blindness of heart,” “alienation” “from the life of God”.

In 1 Samuel 12:15: But if ye will not obey the voice of the LORD, but rebel against the commandment of the LORD, then shall the hand of the LORD be against you, as it was against your fathers.

We read in:

Isaiah 1:4 sinful nation, a people laden with iniquity, a seed of evildoers , children that are corrupters : they have forsaken * the LORD, they have provoked * the Holy One of Israel unto anger , they are gone away backward.

As I study God’s Word and lean upon him, join me for Day 2: Isaiah 1:10-20.

Father God: I pray for this nation, I pray for my loved ones, friends and I pray for myself by reading your Word, we are able to put you back into our lives and follow the commandments you have given to us.

Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

