Is Satan Real?

Seven Old Testament books and nineteen New Testament books refer to the existence of Satan.

Upon reading Ezekiel 28:13-19 (paraphrased) all precious stones were prepared the day you were created. You were perfect in your creation until iniquity was found in you. (God’s heart was lifted up because of his beauty) However, you corrupted wisdom by reason of your brightness. You have defiled my sanctuaries by multitudes of iniquities. I (God) will bring fire and devour you so you shall be never more.

In other words, God was proud of who he created. But pride, envy and jealousy got in this creation. Lucifer (Satan) becomes so self-absorbed that he wanted and still wants to be God. He wants all of God’s honor, glory and praise.

We read in Isaiah 14:12-17 (paraphrased) How have you fallen from heaven, O Lucifer, son of the morning.

Lucifer states:

  • I will ascend into heaven
  • I will exalt my throne above the stars of God
  • I will sit upon the mount of the congregation
  • I will ascend above the heights of the cloud
  • I will be like the most High!

We read in Ezekiel 28:14 Lucifer was the anointed cherub.

In Exodus 25:20 the cherubims stretched forth their wings on high, covering the mercy-seat.

In other words, this was a very important position.

Definitions:

Iniquity: grossly unfair behavior. (Evil, wickedness, wrong doings)

Annoited: chosen (blessed)

In the beginning, we know Satan decides to test his powers of wickedness and deceitfulness on Eve.

Genesis 3:1 Now the serpent was more subtil than any beast of the field the Lord God had made.

Genesis 3:4 And the serpent said unto the woman (Eve), Ye shall not surely die.

Eve was being tested. God had already told both Adam and Eve the law of the garden.

Satan is still alive and working in our lives today – we read in Ephesians 2:2 according to the prince of the power of the air (Satan), the spirit that now worketh in the children of disobedience.

How do I know Satan is the power of the air? Because we read in John 12:30-32 Jesus answered and said, this voice came not because of me, but for your sakes. Now is the judgment of this world, now shall the prince of this world be cast out. And I, if I be lifted from the earth, will draw all men unto me.

In other words, the prince of the air and the prince of this world is Satan.  This is why as Christians were are in a constant spiritual battle.

Upon reading II Corinthians 4:3-6 the god of this world (Satan) has blinded the minds of those who do not believe.

Remember – Satan is beautiful, subtle and very deceitful. He wants to have all glory and power. He wants to be God. He will do anything to get you NOT to believe.

We read in Romans 10:9 – That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.

In Romans 10:17 – So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.

Remember – Satan is the prince of the air and this world but by putting on the whole armor of God (Ephesians 6:10-18) Satan can not hurt us.  And lastly, remember, those who believe are on the winning side.

1 John 4:4 Put your name in place of ye and you, he-God and he-devil.

Ye (Brenda) are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he (God) that is in you (Brenda) than he(Satan) is in the world.

May you continue to search the living word of God to find your answers. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Is Satan Real?

  1. lovehappily says:

    i had a good read. Thanks for this information.

  2. He never presents himself in his ugliness. Always comes with stealth and deceit.

  3. Nam H Nguyen says:

    I have a question for you. Have you read Paradise lost? I was wondering what you thought of Satan within the context of the play and what that meant for christianity

    • I have not read the Paradise Lost. However, I did just look it up and from what I read this was a poet who was not inspired by God to write his poem. The poem has characters from the bible, however, these are not represented from a biblical perspective. I believe the bible was written from the instructions and inspiration of God through man. Read: 2 Tim 3:16 All scripture is given by inspiration of God. Remember Satan is the author of confusion. He wants to put doubt in all of our lives. If he can put just an ounce of doubt then he is happy. Does this help answer your question? Thank you for reading my post and commenting. I appreciate your time and question.

      • Nam H Nguyen says:

        I understand it wasn’t written by God, but it was written by Christians, and was a perspective on human nature and the conflict of God and human desires. I would recommend a read if you had the time, although it’s very difficult.
        It is a good exposition of human character and faith. Thank you for taking the and answering.

      • I will try and make the time to read it. I would like to point out. The word Christian does not mean the same thing to everyone. For me, I am a born again Christian who is serving Christ and sharing the good news of the gospel. The gospel being: Jesus Christ was born of a virgin mother, died on the cross for man kinds sins and three day later rose from the dead, in order for those who have sinned can be saved by God’s grace and mercy. By faith, I am to believe, confess and repent of my sins and ask Jesus to come into my heart. This is my belief of being a Christian. Because I am made of flesh (born with sin and will always sin) and of the spirit. I am at constant battle within. However, if I put on the whole armour of God and with God’s strength I can strive to serve Christ. It’s because of Adam and Eve’s sin that man will sin and always continue to have conflict.

        Romans 14:9

        7For none of us liveth to himself, and no man dieth to himself. 8For whether we live, we live unto the Lord; and whether we die, we die unto the Lord: whether we live therefore, or die, we are the Lord’s. 9For to this end Christ both died, and rose, and revived, that he might be Lord both of the dead and living. 10But why dost thou judge thy brother? or why dost thou set at nought thy brother? for we shall all stand before the judgment seat of Christ. 11For it is written, [As] I live, saith the Lord, every knee shall bow to me, and every tongue shall confess to God.

        You will also find throughout the entire bible mankind desires and not following God. Until our Lord returns, this will always be the nature of mankind. May you be blessed by reading the living word of God. 🙂

Leave a Reply

