Day 14 The Study of the Book of Isaiah

The Lord Saves

Today’s study is on the first 5 verses of Isaiah 55, I was pleasantly blessed with so much in just 5 verses.

1 Ho, every one that thirsteth, come ye to the waters, and he that hath no money; come ye, buy, and eat; yea, come, buy wine and milk without money and without price.

2 Wherefore do ye spend money for that which is not bread? and your labour for that which satisfieth not? hearken diligently unto me, and eat ye that which is good, and let your soul delight itself in fatness.

3 Incline your ear, and come unto me: hear, and your soul shall live; and I will make an everlasting covenant with you, even the sure mercies of David.

4 Behold, I have given him for a witness to the people, a leader and commander to the people.

5 Behold, thou shalt call a nation that thou knowest not, and nations that knew not thee shall run unto thee because of the LORD thy God, and for the Holy One of Israel; for he hath glorified thee.

Everyone that thirsteth

  • come and hear the truth
  • it’s free, you don’t need money

John 4:14

“But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.”

Do not spend money that is NOT bread

  • why spend money foolishly
  • As Christians, we know all our earthly possession will mean nothing when we die and go to heaven. As read in 1 John 2:17:

1 John 2:17

“And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.”

Our possessions should glorify God and further his work, while we are here on earth. God shows his love and mercy to all and will provide for their needs, as long as they trust and believe.

  • eat that which is good and let your souls delight itself in fatness

John 6:51

“I am the living bread which came down from heaven: if any man eat of this bread, he shall live for ever: and the bread that I will give is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world.”

John 6:33

“For the bread of God is he which cometh down from heaven, and giveth life unto the world.”

John 6:27

“Labour not for the meat which perisheth, but for that meat which endureth unto everlasting life, which the Son of man shall give unto you: for him hath God the Father sealed.”

Romans 14:2-3

2  For one believeth that he may eat all things: another, who is weak, eateth herbs.

3 Let not him that eateth despise him that eateth not; and let not him which eateth not judge him that eateth: for God hath received him.

  • the price has been paid

Hebrews 12:2

“Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

Colossians 2:14

Blotting out the handwriting of ordinances that was against us, which was contrary to us, and took it out of the way, nailing it to his cross;”

  • your soul shall live

John 5:24

“Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that heareth my word, and believeth on him that sent me, hath everlasting life, and shall not come into condemnation; but is passed from death unto life.”

John 6:40

“And this is the will of him that sent me, that every one which seeth the Son, and believeth on him, may have everlasting life: and I will raise him up at the last day.”

  • I have given him for a witness to the people

1 Thessalonians 4:14

“For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so them also which sleep in Jesus will God bring with him.”

2 Corinthians 5:15

“And that he died for all, that they which live should not henceforth live unto themselves, but unto him which died for them, and rose again.”

 

Romans 14:9

For to this end Christ both died, and rose, and revived, that he might be Lord both of the dead and living.”

Let us pause; and know we have a loving gracious God who wants to be our Lord and Savior for all who believe.

Thank you; to those who are taking this journey with me to study the book of Isaiah and how it still applies to our times today.

I would like to end today’s study with a prayer of David.

Psalm 8: 1-8
Bow down thine ear, O LORD, hear me: for I am poor and needy.
Preserve my soul; for I am holy: O thou my God, save thy servant that trusteth in thee.
Be merciful unto me, O Lord: for I cry unto thee daily.
Rejoice the soul of thy servant: for unto thee, O Lord, do I lift up my soul.
For thou, Lord, art good, and ready to forgive; and plenteous in mercy unto all them that call upon thee.
Give ear, O LORD, unto my prayer; and attend to the voice of my supplications.
In the day of my trouble I will call upon thee: for thou wilt answer me.
Among the gods there is none like unto thee, O Lord; neither are there any works like unto thy works.
Leave a Reply

