I Thessalonians

17-week-new-testament-reading-plan

17 NT Books in 17 weeks –  Week Four

This week we studied the book of 1 Thessalonians and here are the nuggets I pulled out of the study.

  • God commands us to love one another.
  • Remember without ceasing
    • your work of faith
    • labour of love
    • patience of hope

After reading, I understand the Thessalonians turned to God from idols to serve the living and true God.

I am asking myself what idols am I serving instead of God?

  • We are to walk worthy of God
    • who has called you unto his kingdom and glory
  • We are to thank God without ceasing
  • We are reminded the word of God is not from men but from truth
  • We are reminded of Satan who constantly hinders us and is the tempter.

Paul asks the Thessalonians what is lacking in your faith?

How am I  walking to please God?  Am I gaining more and more in my walk?

  • Man who despiseth us, despise us and the Holy Spirit

1 Thessalonians Chapter 4

16 For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first:

17 Then we which are alive [and] remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord.

18 Wherefore comfort one another with these words.

 

  • Comfort each other, edify each other, comfort the feebleminded, support the week, warn the unruly, be patient toward all.
  • Hold fast to that which is good.

Do I have boldness in the face of persecutors?

As I continue to search the living word of God, I find joy and a blessing in knowing God remains faithful and keeps his promises. Just as the Thessalonians, we today live in a time of trials and tribulations and can be assured God is standing firm with us always.

Leave a Reply

