Kindness Challenge- I Saw Heaven

revofkindness

Kindness Challenge Week 5

Week 5 exercises- Pick at least one of the following to help you incorporate this week’s focus in your life:

  • Make a list of all of the kind things that happened to you today
  • Keep a journal handy to write details of something kind you’d like to remember
  • Find 5 kind things about your day
  • Focus on the things you have that money can’t buy
  • Say a few words of thanks for the kindness you noticed in your day
  • Meditate before bed and start off with focusing your thoughts on all that you’re thankful for today
  • Come up with a mantra or affirmation of appreciation you repeat before bed
  • Let thoughts of today’s kindness be the last place your mind goes as you go to bed
  • Extend the gratitude by expressing it to the people that showed you kindness
  • Come up with your own exercise

Tip: Remember, kindness comes in many forms. Focus on filling your thoughts and heart with all of the good things that happened today. This will make it easier to recognize kindness disguised as thoughtfulness, courtesy, generosity, sympathy, helpfulness or any other ways it might show up in your day.

If you aren’t currently on week 5 of the challenge, click here to find the post for the week you’re on.

As I continue in week 5 of the Kindness Challenge, I am sharing my end of the day kindness. I continue to incorporate the previous weeks challenges and feel a change of heart is happening as each week passes.

I am the one who is the “cheerleader” of our work team.  I am the one to focus on the positive. I am the one who tries to see the good in all people.  Many times, I have heard, “You live in a fairy land and not reality.”  At times this was hurtful, however, as the years pass I decided living positively is more important to myself and if others don’t choose this way of life, it’s about them and not me.  I am the one at the end of the day who needs to feel good about me.

It happened very slowly about 5 years ago, I had surgery and there was a complication.  It seems no one has or will understand what happened but I lost 7 days and 34 days in the hospital, along with a very long road of months of recovery.  Once, I was on the mend, others filled in the pieces of memories and events which took place. My mother shared with me, do you remember telling me you saw heaven.  Apparently, I was at a very low period and seven doctors surrounded me.  Right before they asked my mother to step out, I said to her, “Mom, I saw heaven.”  I so wish I could remember but by faith I truly believe I did and it was a turning point in my life.  It was time to get back on track with my Saviour Jesus Christ.

blink of an eye

I am currently in my third year of reading at least one passage of scripture a day, out of the living word of God-my bible.  I have read the bible from Genesis to Revelations. I have attended several bible studies and continue to dig deeper into the word of God.  God’s word is my strength, my hope, my joy and my salvation.  I am the most happiest when I start and finish my day reading the bible.  I am not trying to boast or sound prideful but it’s a lifestyle I am not going to change.  It’s about finding joy, peace and comfort in times of hardship and trouble.  It’s about knowing I am loved for me and I am made special just for God.  It’s the most simplest and free gift – to read God’s living word.

At the end of my days this week, here are some passages which filled my heart with joy and I hope they fill yours as well.

Psalms
Chapter 117

O praise the LORD, all ye nations: praise him, all ye people.

For his merciful kindness is great toward us: and the truth of the LORD endureth for ever. Praise ye the LORD.

Isaiah 54:8

“In a little wrath I hid my face from thee for a moment; but with everlasting kindness will I have mercy on thee, saith the LORD thy Redeemer.”

Colossians 3:12

“Put on therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, bowels of mercies, kindness, humbleness of mind, meekness, longsuffering;”

Proverbs 19:22

“The desire of a man is his kindness: and a poor man is better than a liar.”

Romans 12:10

Be kindly affectioned one to another with brotherly love; in honour preferring one another;”

Ephesians 4:32

“And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.”

3 thoughts on “Kindness Challenge- I Saw Heaven

  1. I honestly pray to have such steadfastness about reading my Bible and digging deeper. Sometimes, I go the whole month doing it every day and then sometimes, I derail. Beautiful post.

  2. Niki says:

    Thank you for sharing this Brenda. I like the attitude you have about people not understanding your positivity, that’s their choice not yours. Keep being such a bright light!

Leave a Reply

