1 Samuel 1 – My study notes

1-samuel-hannah

1 Samuel 1:17 Then Eli answered and said, Go in peace: and the God of Israel grant thee thy petition that thou hast asked of him.

 

I love how the Lord shares with me time and time again how he has the answers right in front of me if I just listen and look carefully.

Our sermon on Sunday was about the advantages of being a Christian. One of the bullet points was as a saved child of God – I can seek, knock and know the Lord will answer me. (Matthew 7:7)

Then I read Deuteronomy 4:29 early this morning: But if from thence thou shalt seek the Lord thy God, thou shalt find him, if thou seek him with all thy heart and with all thy soul.

Well, here I am reading the first chapter of 1 Samuel and can imagine Hannah feelings of despair and desperately praying to the Lord with her request. What speaks to my heart is: Hannah didn’t give up on the Lord and stayed faithful. Her prayer was answered. How many times do we as Christians give up on the Lord when we don’t think he has answered us?

May you continue to lean not unto your own understanding but search the living word of God.  

2 thoughts on “1 Samuel 1 – My study notes

  1. Good reminders for us. I love how scriptures support one another even though written in such different times . Thank you for sharing your walk of faith!

Leave a Reply

