1 Samuel 4 – My study notes

1-samuel

S: 21 And she named the child Ichabod, saying, The glory is departed from Israel: because the ark of God was taken, and because of her father in law and her husband.
22 And she said, The glory is departed from Israel: for the ark of God is taken.

O: Further digging on the Ark of the Covenant revealed – the ark is where the “glory of the Lord” dwelled among the children of Israel. The Ark was in the Tabernacle in Shiloh for almost 350 years. God watch more and more sin move into idolatry and disobedience. It was time for God to act and for his people to once again turn back to him. There are three Arks mentioned in the bible: Noah’s Ark, Moses’ Ark of Bulrushes and Ark of the Covenant. From digging deeper into the word of God – these three Arks give us a spiritual picture. Noah’s Ark – salvation. God gave people a choice the choice is of life or death. The Ark of bulrushes can be a picture of protection. Ark of Covenant is a picture of communion and fellowship. It’s a promise God will be with us if we only seek and meet him in the midst.

A: Once again this reminds me of the importance of God being in my life. I am reminded again to not take life for granted. I am reminded it is a free gift to have salvation through Jesus Christ.

K: Father God, Thank you for your word to help guide me and mold me into the Christian you want me to become. Use me, Lord to do your will. Help me, Lord to follow your ways and to keep you in the midst of my day. I love you, Lord. Amen.

May you continue to search the word of the living God and apply it to your heart. 

2 thoughts on “1 Samuel 4 – My study notes

  1. So often on my walk of faith, I fall short. I will stubbornly proceed in my way, completely forgetting God’s Holy Spirit is with me. I take it for granted so often that God is with me,that I won’t even take the time to pray for spiritual discernment and guidance. Amazing, how after ” my” way starts to collapse, do I remember the presence of God! Thank you for sharing your walk of faith!

Leave a Reply

