1 Samuel 5 – My study notes

1-samuel

S: 5:2 When the Philistines took the ark of God, they brought it into the house of Dagon, and set it by Dagon.

O: When I think of Dagon – I picture a statue of some sort. I looked into this deeper and found out a few things. First I looked up the definition of an idol in the 1828 Webster’s Dictionary:
I’DOL, noun [Latin idolum; Gr. form or to see.]

1. An image, form or representation, usually of a man or other animal, consecrated as an object of worship; a pagan deity. Idols are usually statues or images, carved out of wood or stone, or formed of metals, particularly silver or gold.

The gods of the nations are idols. Psalms 96:5.

2. An image.

Nor ever idol seemed so much alive.

3. A person loved and honored to adoration. The prince was the idol of the people.

4. Any thing on which we set our affections; that to which we indulge an excessive and sinful attachment.

Little children, keep yourselves from idols. 1 John 5:1.

An idol is any thing which usurps the place of God in the hearts of his rational creatures.

5. A representation. [Not in use.] Then I looked up Dagon and found a picture which might have represented what Dagon looked like. Apparently, Dagon was a fish god who was worshiped.

A: Upon this discovering, I am reminded that an idol is much more than just a statue. An idol is really something you put above the Lord. It can be money, time on facebook, time wasted, singer, actor and the list goes on. I need to remember who I need to serve and this is our Father God only.

K: Father God, please use me for your will today. Remind me to not let other influences of the world keep my eyes off from you. I pray for our group today as we study together and learn together how important it is to examine our hearts and know who we are serving today. I love you, Lord. May the group feel your blessings and love today. Amen.

Image may contain: one or more people
2 thoughts on “1 Samuel 5 – My study notes

  1. “An idol is really something you put above the Lord. It can be money, time on facebook, time wasted, singer, actor and the list goes on.”

    It can even be a good thing God himself gives us.

Leave a Reply

