1 Samuel 9 – My study notes

1-samuel

SOAK – Scripture, Observe, Application and Kneel

I was digging into this deeper and found this interesting take on chapter 9 from the study guide KJV Blue Letter Bible resource. Now the donkeys of Kish, Saul’s father, were lost: Look at how God opens one of the most important chapters of Israel’s history! A king will be led to the throne by three lost donkeys! We have no idea how God will use the seemingly normal – and annoying – circumstances of life.

i. There are two mistakes people make regarding God’s guidance through circumstances. One mistake is to think every event of our lives is heavy with meaning from God. This is wrong, because though nothing happens by accident, not everything happens for a great purpose. The second mistake is to ignore the moving of God in our lives through circumstances. God wanted to use this situation to guide Saul, and God will often use circumstances in our lives the same way. We need to trust in God’s goodness and in His ability to make all things work together for good (Romans 8:28).

S: 3 And the asses of Kish Saul’s father were lost. And Kish said to Saul his son, Take now one of the servants with thee, and arise, go seek the asses. 12: And they answered them, and said, He is; behold, he is before you: make haste now, for he came to day to the city; for there is a sacrifice of the people to day in the high place:

O: God used the donkeys to bring Saul to the right place at the right time with Samuel. Three separate circumstances were used to draw the will of God to be done.

A: Many times I don’t understand why something happened to me or why I wasn’t answered the way I wanted to be but yet here we see clearly God’s will is what controls our situations as long as we wait, watch and listen. There could have been so many what if’s — the donkeys went to another place, Saul didn’t go after the donkeys or Samuel wasn’t even going to be there at the same time as Saul.

K: Thank you for the what ifs in my life, as I know I have been on many paths leading to where I am finally finding you in my heart, in my ways and in my thoughts. Finally finding the church which has allowed me to grow spiritually and as a Christian. You have blessed me more than I could have ever deserved and for this I am thankful.

May you continue to search the living word of God and not lean unto your own understanding. 

Leave a Reply

