1 Samuel 16 – My Study Notes

1-samuel

S.O.A.K. method – Scripture, Observe, Application and Kneel.  Good Morning Girls – Courtney Joseph

 

S: 12 And he sent, and brought him in. Now he was ruddy, and withal of a beautiful countenance, and goodly to look to. And the LORD said, Arise, anoint him: for this is he.

O: Out of all the brothers it was David who was anointed. I find it interesting David’s father did not even mention him and only presented all brothers but David.  I like how we can see easily where David got his heart from with some further digging into the word. We find this out 2 times in Psalms and once in 2 Timothy. Psalm 86:16 O turn unto me, and have mercy upon me; give thy strength unto thy servant, and save the son of thine handmaid. and Psalm 116:16 O LORD, truly I am thy servant; I am thy servant, and the son of thine handmaid: thou hast loosed my bonds. 2 Timothy 1:5 When I call to remembrance the unfeigned faith that is in thee, which dwelt first in thy grandmother Lois, and thy mother Eunice; and I am persuaded that in thee also. All three of these scriptures point to David’s mother.

A: This certainly reminds me of how I learned at an early age about God – from my Grandmother. She would send cards, letters, and books from time to time and would always state: Smile God loves you and don’t forget to stop and smell the roses. I love how God uses his word to teach us how we should raise our children.

K: Father God, remind me to keep an open heart to my daughter so she understands the love I feel for you. If you grant me with grandchildren, please Lord, let me instill the love I have for you into their precious hearts as well. All praise and glory to you for giving us the word for standards to live by and follow.

May you continue to search the living word of God and not lean unto your own understanding. 

Leave a Reply

