1 Samuel 19 My Study Notes

1-samuel

S.O.A.K. method Scripture which speaks to my heart, Observe, Application and Kneel in Prayer

S: 4 And Jonathan spake good of David unto Saul his father, and said unto him, Let not the king sin against his servant, against David; because he hath not sinned against thee, and because his works have been to thee-ward very good and 11: Saul also sent messengers unto David’s house, to watch him, and to slay him in the morning: and Michal David’s wife told him, saying, If thou save not thy life to night, to morrow thou shalt be slain.

O: There is so much in this chapter to ponder. The first is Jonathan has a choice – He either goes against his father or he warns his dear friend David. We know the bible states in Exodus 20:12 Honor your father and mother. Saul was Jonathan’s father and he was the king. Was Jonathan supposed to submit? What should Jonathan do? Since Jonathan has a heart for God – we know he needs to stand by God’s word, as it states in Exodus 20:13 You shall not murder. So, it’s easy for Jonathan to make his choice. He knew the Lord was clear about this and so telling David was the right act to do. The second thing Michal has a choice either she let her husband know or acts on her father’s interest. However, just as Jonathan did, Michal acts according to the word of God. This is read in Genesis 2:24 Therefore a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and they shall become one flesh. Her loyalties were to be with David, her husband.

A: When I am given choices, I want to be sure I make sound biblical choices. Ones which are pleasing to God.

K: Father I want to kneel before you when I have small, big, hard or easy choices and know my decisions are based upon your word and your commandments. In a world full of choices, let me stay true to your ways and continue to honor and serve you.

May you continue to search the word of the living God and not lean unto your own understanding.

2 thoughts on “1 Samuel 19 My Study Notes

  1. Thank you for sharing your walk of faith! Taking our time ( a challenge for me ) and using our spiritual discernment is so important. Regardless of the questions we are facing! I pray for God’s way to be revealed to me in prayer….again, another challenge for me is quieting myself so I am prepared to listen. Again, thank you for your important writing!

    • Praise God for being challenged. It’s being challenged that will allow us to want to draw closer to Jesus and seek his way not ours. May you feel the love of Christ surround you today. May you take a moment to humble yourself and be still. Thank you for stopping by and reading my notes. I appreciate your time.

Leave a Reply

