1 Samuel 20 – My Study Notes

1-samuel

S.O.A.K. method  Scripture which speaks to my heart, Observe, Application and Kneel in prayer

S: 36 And he said unto his lad, Run, find out now the arrows which I shoot. And as the lad ran, he shot an arrow beyond him.

O: I can just imagine this and feel the scene and emotions which must have taken place at the time. To know and feel David had to leave all that he knew behind him. To know his life was never going to be the same. But yet, David still remains faithful to the Lord and to his dear friend Jonathan. Both go in peace knowing they both have the same heart – the heart for the Lord. Neither of them will break this promise to each other or to their future generations.

A: One small arrow, one small chain of events can lead to a huge life change of challenges. David leaves it all but still has the Lord and knows it will be alright as long as he has him in his life. How many times have I had to leave in peace knowing the Lord would help me every step of the way. Losing a husband and a child at an early age, leaving an abusive relationship and thinking I had found my future husband only to find out the hard way he was not who God intended for me. Living a childhood with a schizophrenic father, who thought he was God and took me out in the coldest winter day only to have my mother find us and I was blue. Learning to live with chronic depression and back issues and my list of small arrows keeps on but I AM choosing to remain faithful to God because it’s the peace and only way I know how to live.

K: Father God, you have never left my side even when I left yours. Thank you for keeping your promise to me and help me to follow you with a clean and clear heart each and everyday.

May you continue to lean not unto your own understanding but search the word of the living God. 

2 thoughts on “1 Samuel 20 – My Study Notes

  1. SRJ says:

    Just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

