1 Samuel Chapter 24 – My Study Notes

1-samuel

S.O.A.K. Method = Scripture which speaks to my heart, observe, application and kneel in prayer.

S: 12 The Lord judge between me and thee, and the Lord avenge me of thee: but mine hand shall not be upon thee.

Rather than taking matters into his own hands, David trusted God to judge and avenge him against Saul.

What situation in your life, do you need to trust yourself less and trust God more?

 

Digging into the word of God and found this by David Guzik Sometimes, when we have a promise from God, we think we are justified in sinning to pursue that promise. This is always wrong.

A husband may say, “God has promised me abundant life according to John 10:10. God wants me to have fullness of joy according to Psalm 16:11. I can’t have abundant life or fullness of joy being married to my wife, so I am going to leave her because I have found someone who does give me fullness of joy and abundant life. Thank you LORD for Your promise!” This is always sin. God will fulfill His promises, but He will do it His way, and do it righteously.

Instead, we need to be like Abraham, who obeyed God even when it seemed to be at the expense of God’s promise, willing to sacrifice the son of promise (Genesis 22). Even more, we need to be like Jesus, who didn’t take Satan’s offer to “win back the world” at the expense of obedience (Luke 4:5-8).

Luke 4:5-8 And the devil, taking him up into an high mountain, shewed unto him all the kingdoms of the world in a moment of time.
6 And the devil said unto him, All this power will I give thee, and the glory of them: for that is delivered unto me; and to whomsoever I will I give it.
7 If thou therefore wilt worship me, all shall be thine.
8 And Jesus answered and said unto him, Get thee behind me, Satan: for it is written, Thou shalt worship the Lord thy God, and him only shalt thou serve.

 

John 10:10 The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.

 

Psalm 16:11 Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fulness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.

May you not lean unto your own understanding but search the Word of the living God. 

Leave a Reply

