1 Samuel Chapter 28 – My Study Notes

1-samuel

S.O.A.K. method  Scripture which speaks to my heart, Observe, Application and Kneel in prayer.

S: 15: And Samuel said to Saul, Why hast thou disquieted me, to bring me up? and 19: and to morrow shalt thou and thy sons be with me:

O: This gives me goosebumps to know Samuel had died and was in a place of comfort and didn’t want to be disturbed. Then Samuel states Saul and his sons would also be in this place. You need to dig deeper on this passage and remember that in Luke, Jesus states the dead are in the same general area – the believing in Abraham’s bosom and the unbelieving in torment. It’s not until Christ dies on the cross that all the believing dead were taken to heaven with Christ.

As read in Luke 16:19 There was a certain rich man, which was clothed in purple and fine linen, and fared sumptuously every day:
20 And there was a certain beggar named Lazarus, which was laid at his gate, full of sores,
21 And desiring to be fed with the crumbs which fell from the rich man’s table: moreover the dogs came and licked his sores.
22 And it came to pass, that the beggar died, and was carried by the angels into Abraham’s bosom: the rich man also died, and was buried;

A: The living word of God has so much to teach us. His word is a love letter to us. His love letter teaches us how we are to live up to his standards. How will we ever understand if we are not in his word every day reading his love to us on how to live in a world full of wickedness and sin. His word is our shield of hope, strength, love and guidance.

K: Lord, I pray I continue to stay in your word every day. At times, life gets busy and I have excuses. Help me to remember to read your love letter to me each and every day.

4 thoughts on “1 Samuel Chapter 28 – My Study Notes

  1. Yentl says:

    I have heard of the SOAP method, but I like SOAK better;) Thank you for the reminder that God’s word is his love letter to us:)

Leave a Reply

